Skip to content

The past two years, the past six months

May 5, 2010

My adult life (which I measure as my post-college life) has been moving at an alarming rate.  It has spanned more than two years now, which I find hard to believe and also frightening.  From the third grade through high school, I kept  good-old-fashioned, keep-out-don’t-read journals.  During college, this habit dropped off, but my progress and experiences were still documented, I think, through mid terms and final projects.  Sadly, these past 2+ years seem lost to me,  documented by hardly anything personal.  And so I’ve decided to leave my little mark– my little trail of bread crumbs– via blog.  To catch up, I’ve recounted a selection of my life’s encounters during the past six months.

April Encounters:

  • sweet, rose-filled wedding (Zilker Sculpture Gardens, Austin, TX)
  • Iain Sinclair
  • Jake Silverstein book release party
  • Public humiliation via stage fright
  • Mad Men: Season 2

March Encounters:

  • Dave Eggers talk (Book People, Austin, TX)
  • SXSW 2010 (highlights included Avi Buffalo and J. Mascis)
  • First encounter with a chiropractor
  • Birth of my first niece
  • Peter Brook’s Lord of the Flies

February Encounters:

  • Milk + Honey facial and massage
  • Last Loxsly show, first Royal Forest show
  • Becker Vinyard (Fredericksburg, TX)
  • Mad Men: Season 1
  • 4 year anniversary

January Encounters:

  • John Steinbeck’s The Red Pony
  • Amazing late-night-gazebo wedding (Houston, TX)
  • Yo La Tengo (Stubb’s, Austin, TX)

December Encounters:

  • Annie Leibowitz
  • John Cassavete’s A Woman Under the Influence
  • Christmas in Houston
  • New Year’s Eve at the Hotel St. Cecilia (Austin, TX)

November Encounters:

  • Texas Book Festival panel discussion with Jonathan Safran Foer
  • Ingmar Bergman’s Scenes from a Marriage.
  • Wes Anderson’s Fantastic Mr. Fox
  • James Fenton
  • Pittsburgh, PA
  • Frank Lloyd Wright’s Falling Water
  • William Whyte’s City: Rediscovering the Center
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

